The Reader Club
The Reader Club Book Reviews
Misfit Magic School
0:00
-13:30

Misfit Magic School

Intro to Book

Hello Readers, 

Well, we’re backing off the   Sci-Fi (what a doozy, spent so much time there) and back in lands of fantasy. Maybe I’m just drawn to it. Maybe, there are more middle-grade novels that are fantasy than any other genre (I don’t know I’m actually guessing), maybe I just pick up the next book without thinking…That could actually happen. Whatever it is, this is where we are. But fantasy is exciting and fun! There’s adventure to be had, treasures to find, damsels to save, or sometimes gentlemen need the saving. Sometimes the whole world needs the saving. Potions, battles, magic, schools, and books about magical schools are endless, possibly because there is so much unknown about magic. But this is where we land. In a school for magic. Well…maybe not so much.

Today I’m reviewing Misfit Magic School by Marina J. Bowman. Not exactly the kind of title you were thinking about, was it? This perhaps is better called a school for Misfits than magic. And there’s a whole lot of misfits that go to this school. Seems even the fantasy worlds have places for their odd kind. A place where you might think odd was the norm, well…there are still, apparently, some who are too odd even for them. But the oddest thing of all? It’s a school of misfits because they are magic, but are not as apt with their magical gifts as they ought to be.

Summary

The story takes place in a modern timeline, but the magical community is removed from our human senses. Humans don’t know they exist. But they do interact with humans, just pretending they are like them. Well, we quickly meet one of the most famous families in the magic world, but their daughter is not good with her magic. She is what they call a remnant and our opening scene is her first day at the Misfit school called Glofiara. Hijinks immediately ensure in the school of remnants who all have limited control of their powers. But when an evil sorcerer (he-who-hardly-gets-mentioned-but-they-aren’t-afraid-of-saying-his-name-per-se) starts to make trouble again, it is up to a few of the misfits among misfits at Glofiara to rise up to the challenge.

All-in-all, there are several…we’ll say similarities, to another famous book about a magic school, evil…magic wielders…and how things turn out. Take note, there are many differences too, and I enjoyed the read overall, but couldn’t help but notice the similarities. It is difficult, to say the least, to not mimic other stories in some fashion when you write your own. I mean, you get inspiration from somewhere. But the lack of subtlety here is the most pervasive issue. It is just too close to a rather favored author of mine. But…mimicry is the sincerest form of flattery…so there’s that too.

Characters

Okay…so there are a few, and the main characters are all listed in the first few pages, so I don’t feel I’m spoiling anything by mentioning them. You may feel free to disagree, maybe you’d like to guest host an episode! Reach out! Okay, clumsy and lame pitch aside, I don’t like spoilers, so I’m just going with my gut on this that what I will say in this part isn’t. My rule of thumb is anything on the blurb is game, as well as anything you can glance over in the first few pages. Why? Because that is what I do to every book I ever look at and see if I want to buy.

So characters:

There’s Ember (she’s the one with the famous parents), and the story is told mostly from her point of view, though it is third person. She’s a bit of a firecracker and often upsets the order of things though she’s just trying to keep her head down and hopefully get out of the school

Then there’s Chloe, who is chocked full of human devices, which is odd in the magic world they live in, and immediately gets picked on for it.

Next is Elias, a kind of snooty know-it-all type who gets under Ember’s nerves.

Lastly, there is Parker, who is kind of a bully, kind of a nice guy, who kind of always appears there with them. 

We also have a nemesis-like, or rival character who makes periodic appearances and usually disrupts the status quo. A teacher the students are attached to, who disappears suddenly (it’s on the blurb), another who seems to dislike Ember from the beginning….and her sister and parents, all who are still living but often gone so Ember feels rather lonely and ostracized.

Analysis

Okay, if you didn’t pick up on some of the obvious hints about that other famous set of books about magical schools, then you need to go back and read them. Maybe I should do an episode on them? Let me know what you think about that. I’m not going to lie, the things I’ve mentioned only scratch the surface of similarity, however, again, I found the book enjoyable still. There were just enough differences that kept me engaged wanting to read more. Almost like a craftsman house with the same shape for a foundation. Some of the walls lined up, but the results of the houses looked different enough to be able to appreciate both. I give this book a 3.5. I enjoyed it but didn’t quite love it and can still recommend it.

Major Themes:

One of the biggest issues is how Ember feels and deals with being a remnant and outcast. There is a very large emotional draw here. She feels big and as a reader, we get to feel it alongside her. I feel I can relate to her honest emotions. Also, I feel this is the biggest difference between her and the boy who survived, who I struggle to connect with though deeply connecting with his story but able to connect to all the side characters. In this story, I feel a great connection to the MC but not the side characters, except Parker.

Writing Style:

The writing style is very fluid and imaginative, yet easy to read and understand. I would put this book in the 9 and up level on readability. It’s fun, engaging, and quick. If you’ve never read that other series I keep mentioning, you’d probably read this one thinking all things were original and great elements to the story. I’m not saying they aren’t…they are just similar. Very similar, and for some reason I couldn’t shake it as I read. If you have read that other series, this is as readable as book one, maybe even more so.

Plot:

The plot is simple, easy to follow, and fast-paced. It mostly stays in one location, or very close to it (like another series…) and there are limitations to the students leaving that location…(like another series)…and as a whole, there’s a young kid taking on some major baddies…like…oh, well you get it. Again…if you can read the other, it’s safe to say you can read this one too.

Gospel Connections:

Now, this is the hard part, and hopefully, I don’t get into any spoilers here, but there are some issues to address. While this is a magical world, this takes place in our world, where magic is hidden from humans. So, there is one problem here which I’m honestly struggling with how to handle for my kids to read it. The issue is this, they serve a goddess. This is a big issue as this goddess comes with her own backstory. If this was another world, I would say that this is an easier conversation to engage my kids with, but since this is on earth, they are witches and sorcerers, and part of their magic deals with worshipping a goddess…that’s just hard to say “here you go kids, have fun,” not only that but the book validates the reality of the goddess within the story. Again, hopefully, I haven’t added a spoiler here, but this is a big issue and one you should be aware of.

Besides the odd worship practices, magic, witches, and sorcerers, the book does have redeemable qualities. Sacrifice, teamwork, and forgiveness all are seen throughout the book. A general good versus evil story, and finding belonging are major storylines in the book. In the end, you’ll have to make a choice on how to approach the book and the things in it. The cover and blurb caught my attention and would likely catch the attention of a young reader.

Social Impact:

This is easy this week. So many social implications to this book. One aspect I really enjoyed was how this book seemed to hit some emotional vulnerabilities in an ostracized group of ragtag teenage magic-wielding heroes. How they were able to make friends, deal with troublesome family issues and struggles, and band together when adults didn’t quite believe them. 

Then there is the celebrity and political aspect. Not being a son of a celebrity or politician of any sort, I can’t exactly relate, but I’m sure there are kids out there who can. Even local celebrity status might be enough to feel some of those pain and pressure points that we see in this book. And Politics that drive how people react to a situation (let’s just say governing bodies don’t handle things very well and that causes more issues and rifts with people). 

Final Thoughts

I would give this book a 3.5 out of 5. It was good, but not great. I’d recommend it, but with a warning like I’m giving you now. There aren’t any real literary issues, but the similarities between this book and that other series are too close for comfort for me. It kind of takes the book down at least that half-star for me. But once you get past that, repeatedly, the story is rather enjoyable, and there are some original quirks to it. As for idol worship, well…that is hard for me to appraise or recommend, and it is hard to escape in this book. I believe I would allow my kids to read it, explaining it as worship of a false god, and allowing them to see how that god falls short of the one true God, which is very apparent in the book. But again, I leave that discernment to you.

Until next time, have a good read.

Discussion about this podcast

The Reader Club
The Reader Club Book Reviews
A place for readers of any age, but the focus is on middle-grade to young-adult-age novels. I look at Christian and non-Christian novels from a Christian worldview, trying to help my readers see how all books can be read and enjoyed biblically.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randal Murphey